The Minister Ministry News Search the Ministry BC Government Publications Index Contact the Ministry Wireless Navigation
Stakeholder Info       Site Indices



The local government system in British Columbia is comprised municipalities, regional districts and improvement districts.


There are 162 municipalities in B.C. Municipalities range in population size from small villages of fewer than 250 persons to large cities approaching 600,000 in population.


The median population size is 4,800 and while municipalities cover only 1% of British Columbia's terrain they provide services to approxmately 87% of the provincial population. Municipalities in B.C range in geographic size from 60 hectares to 155,000 hectares.


There are four classes of municipalities: village; town; district; and, city. These definitions are population-based; however, the authorities of each class are the same.

Municipal councils are democratically elected bodies and are accountable to their electorate. Councils are comprised of a mayor and councillors. Council size varies from five to nine members depending on the population of the municipality.

Municipalities, along with non-municipal areas (known as electoral areas) form part of the regional district system. Municipal councils appoint one or more members to sit as municipal representatives on their respective regional board. This requirement to wear "two hats" is a unique and challenging aspect of the local government system in B.C.

Municipalities are the cornerstone of the local government system in B.C. They operate primarily under the Community Charter which recognizes them as an independent order of government within their jurisdiction. This recognition is unique in Canada and enables municipalities to provide a wide variety of services that are reflective of their community's needs and desires.

Municipalities have broad service authority to provide core responsibilities that include, and are not limited, to the following:

  • general government;
  • transportation – streets and roads, in some cases urban transit;
  • protection – police, fire;
  • environment – water treatment and supply, waste water treatment, refuse collection/disposal;
  • recreation and culture – recreation centres, playing fields, parks, libraries;
  • land use planning and regulation, building regulation, zoning; and,
  • regulation – animal control, public health, signs, business licensing, municipal services.

Municipalities have flexibility in how and what services they provide, including the ability to enter into private partnerships (PDF 361KB). Municipalities have flexibility in their ability to generate revenue to finance operations. This is done primarily through the property tax system but includes the ability to charge fees for services.

Municipalities are not responsible for schools, social assistance, hospitals. These are a provincial responsibility.

The Ministry is responsible for the legislative framework for local government. The Local Government Division actively works with municipalities to provide information and develop advisory materials, approve a select set of bylaws (e.g. long-term capital borrowing and development cost charges).


Changing boundaries, municipal incorporation, and resolving local government disputes are other areas where the Divison provides expertise to municipalities. The Division is also responsible for managing transfer programs to local governments.


Forms  |  Legislation  |  Maps & Statistics  |  Publications  |  Subject Index
Department Staff Directory  |  Local Government Directory

Footer Image Map


Feedback Privacy Disclaimer Copyright Top Government of British Columbia Ministry Home