The Minister News Search Reports & Publications Contacts Wireless Navigation
Governance &
Structure Division

BC Treaty Process


The Local Government Department provides support to provincial and local government representatives engaged in the B.C. treaty process.

The treaty process is managed by the BC Treaty Commission – an independent body that helps facilitate negotiations among the governments of B.C., Canada and First Nations and provides information on the status of specific negotiations around the province.

There are six stages in the B.C. treaty process. Local government representatives participate as part of the provincial negotiating team in discussions on treaty-related matters that are of interest to local governments. This participation is described in the Memorandum of Understanding (313 KB) between the Union of BC Municipalities and the Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation.

In 2006, Canada and B.C. signed three final agreements (stage 5) with First Nations in the province. Each final agreement contains a chapter detailing the future relationship between local governments and First Nations. Information on governance is contained in the fact sheets below.

Maa-nulth Final Agreement (380 KB)
Tsawwassen Final Agreement (434 KB)
Lheidli T’enneh Final Agreement (353 KB)

Additional information on these final agreements is also available through Indian and Northern Affairs Canada.

Footer Image Map


Feedback Privacy Disclaimer Copyright Top Government of British Columbia Ministry Home